Saturday , July 31 2021

Last Match Report – Australia vs India 2nd T20I 2020

Toss India decided to play vs bowling Australia

India’s captain Virat Kohli decided to send Australia to the second T20I on SCG with Matthew Wade replacing the injured Aaron Finch as captain.

Wade was replacing Finch, who was arguably a one-match pick before Steven Smith, which seemed like a possible opportunity to lead Australia for the first time since his 2018 Newlands ban.

Another shift saw Wade move up to open up with Marcus Stoinis – a role he served with honors for the Hobart Hurricanes in the Big Bash League – instead of hitting in middle as he did during the hosts’ loss of opening T20I in Canberra on Friday night.

Australia is also missing Mitchell the Old Man after he left the squad out of sympathy due to a family illness, and Josh Hazlewood was left out as well, which created opportunities for Daniel Sams and Andrew Tye.

In addition to launching Yuzvendra Chahal in the XI, this time for Ravindr Jadeja, India made two other changes, including Shreyas Iyer for Manish Pandey who had elbow problems and Shardul Thakur for rested Mohammed Shami.

Australia: 1 Marcus Stoinis, 2 Matthew Wade (capt & wk), 3 Moises Henriques, 4 D’Arcy Short, 5 Glenn Maxwell, 6 Steven Smith, 7 Daniel Sams, 8 Sean Abbott, 9 Mitch Swepson, 10 Andrew Tye, 11 Adam Zampa

India: 1 Shikhar Dhawan, 2 KL Rahul (week), 3 Virat Kohli (captain), 4 Shreyas Iyer, 5 Sanju Samson, 6 Hardik Pandya, 7 Washington Sundar, 8 Deepak Chahar, 9 Shardul Thakur, 10 Yuzvendra Chahal, 11 T Natarajan

Source link